Streams upstream | OSTRALE contemporary art exhibition

05.10.2022 – 13.11.2022 Kaunas Central Post Office

FURTHER INFO UNDER http://ostrale.lt

The OSTRALE Biennale in Dresden is one of the largest contemporary art exhibitions in Germany, with 138 artists representing 34 nations (including Lithuania) in 2021. Artists from all over the world, including members of the international curatorial jury from partner institutions in Croatia, Lithuania and Hungary, submitted the works to the Biennale in an open competition.

The organisers of the Biennale aim to present the interdisciplinary content of their exhibitions not only in Germany, but also in various parts of Europe, and therefore organise travelling exhibitions. In cooperation with the European Capitals of Culture, in 2022 artworks from the OSTRALE Biennale are presented in Lithuania.

The OSTRALE Centre for Contemporary Art organises exhibitions in non-traditional spaces, initially designed for purposes other than art. The transformation of these spaces gives an opportunity for new contexts. The history of the building and its past influences the experience of the visitors and creates associations and references that complement the artworks. In 2021, the OSTRALE Biennale O21 BREATHTURN was held in the robotron-Kantine, the former canteen building of an East German electronics company in Dresden. A selection of works from this exhibition is now being displayed in Kaunas Central Post Office.

"Streams upstream" is the final OUT of OSTRALE event, completing the series of European cultural cooperation project "Flowing connections".

The themes of constant movement, migration of animals and humans, their encounter with challenges and each other are interpreted by the exhibition artists. Each artist's perspective depends on the political and economic reality one comes from. This is an exhibition about globality and all the nowness, unfulfillments and subtexts of this multi-layered phenomenon.

Packages, letters or postcards that once found their way from senders to recipients in the mail distribution rooms and followed their own trajectories, sometimes reached their addressees and sometimes disappeared. The viewer can search for a message that is meant only for them, a message secretly transmitted by a stranger, encoded in the language of art, and at the same time feel how the walls of the Kaunas Central Post Office are covered with the passage of time, and open for a BREATHTURN.

Curator: Patricija Gilytė
Architect: Sigita Kundrotaitė-Savickė
Curatorial team of the OSTRALE Biennale O21: Nataša Bodrožić, Ivana Meštrov, Patricija Gilytė, Krisztián Kukla, Andrea Hilger, Antka Hofmann.

Exhibiting artists: Gabrielė Gervickaitė, Zsolt Ferenczy, Volker Kreidler, Seçkin Aydin, Nikita Kadan, Firoz Mahmud, Predrag Pavić, Gabriele Engelhardt, Jana Richenbachová, Farid Rasulov, Goran Škofić, Ivan Milenković, Philipp A. Schäfer, Daina Vanagaitė-Belžakienė, Toni Meštrović, Daniel Chong, Bronė Sofija Gideikaitė, Eszter Szabó, Michael Grudziecki.

Exhibiting AIR artists: Gabrielė Gervickaitė, Anna Fabricius, KOLXOZ collective.

Partners: Kaunas 2022 (Lithuania), OSTRALE – Centre for Contemporary Art (Germany), Slobodne Veze (Croatia), Art Quarter Budapest (Hungary).
Sponsors: Kaunas 2022, Lithuanian Council for Culture, the exhibition is part of the Flowing Connections cooperation project, co-funded by the Creative Europe program of the European Union.
Producer: VšĮ „Ars futuri".

About the "Flowing Connections" project
Connecting four cities with a close relation to water and building bridges between two ECOC cities among them – Dresden in Germany by the river Elbe, Budapest in Hungary by the river Danube, Rijeka (ECOC 2020) in Croatia on the coast of the Adriatic, and Kaunas (ECOC 2022) in Lithuania by the Nemunas and Neris rivers – the project Flowing Connections (FLOC) explores the artistic, ecological and cultural questions of waterside living, the rivers and seas that nourish and threaten our cities in equal measure, divide and unite people, nationalities and landscapes, and our caring or abusive relationships with them.

Streams upstream | Ströme stromaufwärts

OUT of OSTRALE Ausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst
05.10.2022 – 13.11.2022 Kaunas Hauptpostamt

MEHR INFO UNTER http://ostrale.lt

Die OSTRALE Biennale in Dresden ist eine der größten Ausstellungen für zeitgenössische Kunst in Deutschland. 138 Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus 34 Nationen (einschließlich Litauen) nehmen 2021 teil. KünstlerInnen aus der ganzen Welt, darunter auch MitgliederInnen der internationalen Kuratorenjury aus Partnerinstitutionen in Kroatien, Litauen und Ungarn, haben ihre Werke in einem offenen Wettbewerb für die Biennale eingereicht.

Die Veranstalter der Biennale wollen die interdisziplinären Inhalte ihrer Ausstellungen nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in verschiedenen Teilen Europas präsentieren und organisieren deshalb Wanderausstellungen. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Europäischen Kulturhauptstädten werden 2022 Kunstwerke der OSTRALE-Biennale in Litauen präsentiert.

Die OSTRALE Zentrum für Zeitgenössische Kunst organisiert Ausstellungen in nicht-traditionellen Räumen, die ursprünglich für andere Zwecke als Kunst gedacht waren. Die Umgestaltung dieser Räume bietet die Möglichkeit, neue Kontexte zu schaffen. Die Geschichte des Gebäudes und seine Vergangenheit beeinflussen die Erfahrung der BesucherInnen und schaffen Assoziationen und Bezüge, die die Kunstwerke ergänzen. Im Jahr 2021 fand die OSTRALE Biennale O21 ATEMWENDE in der robotron-Kantine, dem ehemaligen Kantinengebäude eines ostdeutschen Elektronikunternehmens in Dresden, statt. Eine Auswahl von Werken aus dieser Ausstellung wird jetzt in dem Hauptpostamt von Kaunas gezeigt.

„Streams upstream" („Ströme stromaufwärts") ist das letzte OUT of OSTRALE-Veranstaltung, die die Reihe des europäischen Kulturkooperationsprojekts „Flowing Connections" abschließt.

Die Themen der ständigen Bewegung, der Migration von Tieren und Menschen, ihre Begegnung mit Herausforderungen und einander werden von den KünstlerInnen der Ausstellung interpretiert. Die Perspektive jeder KünstlerIn hängt von der politischen und wirtschaftlichen Realität ab, aus der sie kommen. Dies ist eine Ausstellung über Globalität und Gegenwärtigkeit, Unvollkommenheiten und Subtexte dieses vielschichtigen Phänomens.

Pakete, Briefe oder Postkarten, die einst in den Postverteilungsräumen ihren Weg von den Absendern zu den Empfängern fanden und ihren eigenen Weg gingen, erreichten manchmal ihre Adressaten und verschwanden manchmal. Die BesucherInnen können nach einer Nachricht suchen, die nur für sie bestimmt ist, eine Nachricht, die heimlich von einem Fremden übermittelt wurde, verschlüsselt in der Sprache der Kunst, und gleichzeitig spüren, wie die Wände des Kaunas Zentralpostamtes mit dem Lauf der Zeit überzogen sind, und offen für eine ATEMWENDE.

Kuratorin: Patricija Gilytė
Architektin: Sigita Kundrotaitė-Savickė
Kuratorenteam der OSTRALE-Biennale O21: Nataša Bodrožić, Ivana Meštrov, Patricija Gilytė, Krisztián Kukla, Andrea Hilger, Antka Hofmann.

Ausstellende KünstlerInnen: Gabrielė Gervickaitė, Zsolt Ferenczy, Volker Kreidler, Seçkin Aydin, Nikita Kadan, Firoz Mahmud, Predrag Pavić, Gabriele Engelhardt, Jana Richenbachová, Farid Rasulov, Goran Škofić, Ivan Milenković, Philipp A. Schäfer, Daina Vanagaitė-Belžakienė, Toni Meštrović, Daniel Chong, Bronė Sofija Gideikaitė, Eszter Szabó, Michael Grudziecki.

Ausstellende AIR-KünstlerInnen: Gabrielė Gervickaitė, Anna Fabricius, Kollektive KOLXOZ.

Partner: Kaunas 2022 (Litauen), OSTRALE – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst (Deutschland), Slobodne Veze (Kroatien), Art Quarter Budapest (Ungarn).
Sponsoren: Kaunas 2022, Litauischer Kulturrat. Die Ausstellung ist Teil des vom Creative Europe Programm der Europäischen Union kofinanzierten Kooperationsprojekts Flowing Connections.
Producer: VšĮ „Ars futuri".

Über das Flowing Connections Projekt
Das Projekt Flowing Connections (FLOC) verbindet vier Städten mit einem engen Bezug zum Wasser und überbrückt zwei europäische Kulturhauptstädte unter ihnen – Dresden in Deutschland an der Elbe, Budapest in Ungarn an der Donau, Rijeka (Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2020) in Kroatien an der Küste der Adria und Kaunas (Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2022) in Litauen an den Flüssen Nemunas und Neris. Diese internationale Kooperation erforscht die künstlerischen, ökologischen und kulturellen Fragen des Lebens am Wasser, der Flüsse und Meere, die unsere Städte gleichermaßen nähren und bedrohen, die Menschen, Nationalitäten und Landschaften trennen und vereinen, und unserer fürsorglichen oder missbräuchlichen Beziehungen zu ihnen.